The Office of the Governor of Virginia

The Virginia Governor's Office is the executive office of the Commonwealth of Virginia, and includes the Governor of Virginia, his advisors and counsel, the Governor's Cabinet, and a number of other staff. The current Governor of Virginia is Governor Ralph Northam.

Governor Ralph Northam

Governor Ralph Northam

The Governor of Virginia is the Chief Executing of the Commonwealth of Virginia, serving for a four-year term. In Virginia, though individuals may serve more than one term as Governor, these terms cannot be consecutive.The current and 73rd Governor of the Commonwealth of Virginia is Ralph Northam. Prior to his inauguration, Governor Northam served as an Army doctor, pediatric neurologist, business owner, state Senator, and Lieutenant Governor.

First Lady Pamela Northam

First Lady Pamela Northam

The current First Lady of the Commonwealth of Virginia is Pamela Northam. Ms. Northam’s primary goal as First Lady has been to improve school readiness statewide, and has used her experience as a former pediatric occupation therapist and science educator to lead the Northam administration’s work to increase access to quality early childhood care and education. Since the beginning of the administration, over $98 million in new state, federal, and local funds have been invested in Virginia’s early education system, including $42.9 million in innovative federal preschool development grants overseen by the First Lady’s office.

The Governor's Cabinet

Chief of Staff - Clark Mercer

Secretary of the Commonwealth - Kelly Thomasson

Secretary of Administration - Keyanna Conner, Ph.D.

Secretary of Education - Atif Qarni

Secretary of Finance - Aubrey Layne

Secretary of Natural Resources - Matthew Strickler

Secretary of Transportation - Shannon Valentine

Chief Workforce Advisor to the Governor - Megan Healy, Ph.D.

Counsel to the Governor - Rita Davis

Chief Diversity Officer - Janice Underwood, Ph.D.

Constituent Services

The Governor's Office of Constituent Services and Community Engagement facilitates communication with the Governor, processes requests for proclamations and other commemorative documents, and manages flag and other protocol related requests.

Constituent Services Staff

Governor's Office of Constituent Services and Community Engagement

Director - JD Ratliff

Special Assistant - Demetria Garland

Special Assistant - Suzanne Holland

Special Assistant - Darryl Holt

Special Assistant - Maribel Castañeda

Special Assistant - Rose Minor

Constituency Directors

Deputy Secretary of the Commonwealth and Director of African American Outreach - Traci DeShazor

Deputy Secretary of Health and Human Resources and Director of Women's Outreach - Gena Berger

Director of Latino Outreach - Maribel Castañeda

Director of LGBTQ Outreach - Rose Minor

Regional Leads

Northern Virginia - Suzanne Holland

Southside - Rose Minor

Southwest - JD Ratliff

Valley - Suzanne Holland

Virginia Office of Intergovernmental Affairs

The Virginia Office of Intergovernmental Affairs (VOIA) serves as the liaison between the Commonwealth and the United States Congress, the White House, federal agencies, and other states and territories—facilitating communication with the Governor. The D.C. office also coordinates with state agencies to develop the Commonwealth’s federal priorities and appropriations requests.

The Intergovernmental Affairs office also monitors federal legislative issues and advocates on behalf of the Commonwealth. It works with state policy advisors to determine how federal legislation will impact state programs and priorities.

Additionally, the Virginia Office of Intergovernmental Affairs helps to identify federal grant opportunities for the Commonwealth.

The Director of the Virginia Office of Intergovernmental Affairs is Stacey Brayboy.


Virginia Office of Intergovernmental Affairs
444 North Capitol Street NW
Washington, DC 20001

Phone: (202) 783-1769
Fax: (202) 789-7687

Advisors and Counsel

Policy Advisors

Director of the Office of Policy and Legislative Affairs - Matt Mansell

Legislative Director - Marvin Figueroa 

Policy Director - Courtney Dozier 


Deputy Policy Director - Carter Hutchinson 

Senior Policy Analyst - Rushawna Senior

Policy Advisor - Melissa Assalone

Legislative Advisor - John Begala

Policy Analyst - Connor Andrews

Policy Assistant - Grace Kelly

Counsel's Office

Counselor to the Governor - Rita Davis

Deputy Counsel to the Governor - Jessica Killeen

Confidential Assistant to the Counsel - Grace Kelly